Himaka Island 日間賀島 – An Island Made Funner With A Friend

IMG_9714 IMG_9731

On  August 2, 2015, I had the amazing opportunity of visiting Himaka Island 日間賀島(ひまかじま)with a friend of mine from Chukyo University. Luckily for me, my friend was able to find us a one day pass for $70 which included the following: day pass for any Meitetsu Line stops, ferry rides, and a lunch meal located at すず屋海旅館.

The ferry which took us over to the island.
The ferry which took us over to the island.

IMG_9684Now, what really had me excited was when my friend mentioned how this place was basically a food island. Pretty sure you all know how much I love food, so yeah I was pretty darn excited. From Nagoya Station the ride there took about an hour and half by train, a three minute bus ride and another fifteen to twenty minutes by ferry. Upon arriving we were both pretty hungry and went on a search for the place which was serving us for the day.

Here we have the wonderful hotel/resort which provided the delicious lunch.
Here we have the wonderful hotel/resort which provided the delicious lunch.

Oh, I also forgot to mention that the weather was amazingly hot and humid, and we were lost on an island. Sounds like fun, right? Honestly, it was super fun because the area was gorgeous and searching around the town for this hotel was a great experience. By the time we reached the hotel (which took about 10 minutes of wandering around) we were starving and a bit sleepy from our travels. Luckily for us the front desk got us into our small private room for some relaxation time while eating. I had no idea what to expect from this place, and from the looks of the place I was almost positive one night here would be one week’s worth of my savings. Anyways, once we were in the room we were greeted by a woman in a kimono who started us off with a dish of what seemed to be a type of prawn found only near this island.

Type of prawn which we could not figure out how to peel.
Type of prawn which we could not figure out how to peel.

Note to self, be sure to look up how to peel all types of prawn because this one was a toughie. Next, we had a small side dish of wasabi infused raw tako(octopus) and fermented seaweed.

The appetizers are here!
The appetizers are here!

Afterwards we were given what seemed to have been fugu(blowfish) sashimi,  rice in a clay pot with grilled tako(octopus), and fresh tako(octopus).

Oh, did I forget to mention this island’s main food source is octopus? Guess this explains all the different varieties of octopus dishes.

Raw wasabi infused tako.
Raw wasabi infused tako.
Fermented seaweed anyone?
Fermented seaweed anyone?
Boiled tako
Boiled tako

Well, after the tako(octopus) dishes we were given fried fish… which I wish I knew what type of this fish this was because the flesh was amazing and the crunchy outer layer went perfectly with the white rice.

Fried fish
Fried fish

Now, this fish doesn’t look Southern fried and quite frankly I enjoyed this type of fried fish a lot better. Sigh, I miss the the flavors so much. Any who, let me just wipe away my drool first and introduce the next dishes. For light after dinner snack we were given conch and and a small tempura set.

I will agree that Japanese tempura dishes are the closest to deep fried food, but tempura is still a light flaky texture with a slight salty taste to it. Not your double deep fried chicken but no worries Nagoya has this stuff too.

Fish and Vegetable Tempura
Fish and Vegetable Tempura

Okay, back to the island food. Once we were all done with the appetizer sampler and main courses we were given a taste of fresh orange sorbet ice cream. Boy oh boy this was delicious and this one bowl was enough to satisfy my sweet tooth for the week. All in all, this experience was one delicious time filled with fun talks, eating, and exploring. You’d think we would be tired after all the eating. Well, think again, because why should we not take advantage of this day pass?

Rice with grilled tako (octopus)
Rice with grilled tako (octopus)

We did not go to Gifu, but we did end up taking the train back towards Nagoya just to head switch over to the train towards Centrair Airport.

Orange sorbet!
Orange sorbet!

You think I’m kidding? Nope, I figured this would be a fun time to go there and have a nice cup of coffee with a great friend. We went to a little coffee shop for a bit of chit chatting and reminiscing of our first meeting. Afterwards, we went back on the train to head back home… or so I thought. Turns out this day was getting better and better because it turned out that I got to go out for dinner and meet my friend’s wonderful family. I must thank them for the great talks and funny English puns and jokes from my friend’s father.

What a gorgeous town!
What a gorgeous town!

IMG_9722

Though it will be a while until we see each other again, I am so thankful for that one fateful meeting in the international center. If it was not for her courage to speak to me, I would not have met such a wonderful person. If she is reading this, I hope to see you again! This day really was quite the exhausting one, but at the end of the day everyone was just glad to spend a special last night with one another. Over the next few days, one by one we would be going our separate ways. With this in mind, we had one last little get together and lit some sparklers out in the middle of the park. Thank you for this night everyone and I hope to meet all of you again. This is all for my update on my last big trip in Japan so until next time ~

IMG_9730

Leave a Reply

